Skip to content

I didn’t write this post. The Dalai Lama & two of your neighbors did.

May 14, 2011

Be the change you want to see in the world ~ Mahatma Gandhi

When we started how to be a walking Momtra™ we had visions of creating a community place.

More than a place where people could leave with a thought or three from just one small group of people, a place where people from around the world could share their wisdom, other voices essentially singing a similar tune
(share your wisdom).

The goal would always be for readers to leave feeling hopeful and happy (and with helpful thoughts or tips); a place they’d want to come back to time and time again.

It’s important for all of us to hear things said in different ways. Someday, something said “a certain way” really does stick. These moments spark us to try something new; to finally, REALLY evolve or change something “this time.”

how to be a walking Momtra™ loves aha moments and think they truly come quicker if we adapt a wider view and listen to more people.

We truly do become better people when we mull it “all” over. (read: we also believe aha’s come when we find consistent time for ourselves, read as much as we can get our hands on, and by (wait for it) taking a second shower. Yes, seriously. Try it. Repeat.)

With that said, we’d like to share two pieces of pretty epic wisdom recently from htbawM readers:

1) “Be reflective, not reactive.”

Ten years ago when I first started teaching, a mentor teacher gave me one piece of “advice” and said if I learn anything on this “job” this was the most important one. He said, Be reflective, not reactive. When a parent comes up to me for an impromptu conference at the grocery store, or when a student is overtly doing the wrong thing to get attention, my first instinct is to be reactive. It took me three good years to learn to be reflective….Who knew as a parent that I would be momtra-ing in my head ” be reflective not reactive” as my son is drawing on his room wall with a fat permanent marker? ~ V H-M, California

2) A few years ago I made the decision to be my child in the future.

A few years ago I made the decision to be my child in the future. Whenever I’m faced with a decision (and some of them were more temptations than decisions) I would ask myself what I would want 20something HER to do. Whether she is physcially with me or not, she is watching and learning from me. The stories I tell are “when I was your age this happened to me and here’s what I learned.” Surely this will be true throughout her life and I don’t want the stories to be about chasing the wrong man, job, fix, snack, whatever. As a result, I eat healthier, I take care of myself, I get out the door to take care of myself, I know when (and when not) to hit snooze because suddenly it was crystal clear – I am doing them for her all the time. ~ RG, Arizona

We find these posts and Moms a great segway into his holiness the Dalai Lama a couple weeks ago. At a Youth & Innovation Summit we were lucky enough to attend he said the one thing that held the power to better the world was Moms. Mothers and, specifically, their attention and affection to their children. He mentioned affection being the difference between a child growing into an adult who knows how to show & choose love in various situations over the alternative. Though it made sense, it was still extremely powerful (had never heard it said in that way before).

That said, since Mothers Day is every day here at htbawM, we’d like to salute Moms the world over today for the mindfulness they inject into their lives ~ it’s never perfect for any of us (it’s not supposed to be) but it’s always with heart.

And to the Moms who wrote the posts above ~ thank YOU. We are sure the thoughts imparted are some the Dalai Lama would give two exiled thumbs-up to.

“Momtras walk among us” / how to be a walking Momtra link

There’s only one guru ~ you. 

You can follow htbawM on twitter here
You can join htbawM on Facebook here

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Robyn permalink

    beautiful. 🙂

  2. Victoria permalink

    I can’t believe I forgot to read this one post…it may be 11:00 p.m. on a Friday night, and I may be sleep deprived, but my soul is rejuvenated. Feeling so lucky to be surrounded by such amazing mothers, teachers and women. Your words are invaluable.

Leave a Reply

